Phillip Schoendorff, de Monte, and the Court of Rudolph II

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #11-23   Air Date: May 30, 2011

The ensemble Cinquecento, which specializes in music of the renaissance Hapsburg Court, looks at the time of the "melancholy Rudolph."

NOTE: All of the music on this program comes from the release on the Hyperion label featuring the ensemble Cinquecento performing the works of Philipp Schoendorff (1565/70-after 1617).

The recording is on the Hyperion label, and is CDA67854. For more information:

Le Poème Harmonique, a group of soloists who came together in 1998 under the direction of Vincent Dumestre, centres its artistic activity on music of the seventeenth and the early eighteenth century.
Cinquecento uncovers the complete surviving works of Philipp Schoendorff. Schoendorff, originally a pupil of the illustrious Philippe De Monte, was a successful choirmaster at the Prague court of the Emperor Rudolf II. Also included are a Magnificat by his teacher De Monte and the two motets on which his pupil based his Masses.

Schoendorff: The Complete Works

1. Usquequo Domine oblivisceris me, Philippe de Monte (1521-1603)
Missa Usquequo Domine Philipp Schoendorff (1565/70-in or after 1617)
2. Kyrie
3. Gloria
4. Credo
5. Sanctus and Benedictus
6. Agnus Dei
7. Magnificat sexti toni
8. Te decet hymnus
9. Magnificat quarti toni Philippe de Monte (1521-1603)
10. Veni Sancte Spiritus Philipp Schoendorff (1565/70-in or after 1617)
11. La dolce vista della donna mia Philippe de Monte (1521-1603)
Missa super La dolce vista Philipp Schoendorff (1565/70-in or after 1617)
12. Kyrie
13. Gloria

Composer Info

Philippe de Monte (1521-1603), Philipp Schoendorff (1565/70-after1617).

CD Info