Morales: Lamentations and Magnificats

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #09-06   Air Date: Feb 02, 2009

For five centuries, Cristobal de Morales (1500-1553) was in the shadow of Guerrero and Victoria; the Ensemble Plus Ultra directed by Michael Noone reveals the true genius of this Spanish master.

We continue our long and fruitful association with our partners at Radio Netherlands in presenting a series of concerts from the 2008 Holland Festival of Early Music at Utrecht.

We will also direct listeners to their web site, which will provide more in-depth information about the music and performers we hear as well as more information about the festival ( The primary theme for 2008 was the Golden Age in Spain.

Note: All of the music on this program is performed by the Ensemble Plus Ultra, Michael Noone, conductor. For more information on this group:

Morales: Lamentations and Magnificats

After five centuries in the shadows, Cristóbal de Morales (1500-1553) quite recently joined the ranks of Francisco Guerrero and Tomás Luis de Victoria as Spain’s greatest Golden Age composers. Initially, Morales gained fame in Italy, where he was a member of the papal chapel in Rome around 1550 and published his masses and magnificats. Especially these magnificats show an intricate mastery of contrapuntal technique and heart moving expression. Their popularity ensured frequent performances, copying and reprints. o°©nly after Morales’ death, his Lamentations were published – heavily edited to comply with Pius V’s new guidelines for liturgical music. For this reason, the repertoire was deemed impossible to perform, but musicologist and ensemble leader Michael Noone reconstructed the original score based o°©n several manuscripts. Now, the Lamentations can be heard in their full glory for the first time since the 16th century.

Cristóbal de Morales ca.1500-1553

Lamentatie: Et factum est postquam ("Now it came to pass, that after Alexander, the son of Philip.....had overthrown Darius"--from 1 Maccabees)

(source: Kathedrale bibliotheek, Puebla, Mexico, reconstructie: Michael Noone & Graeme Skinner)

Lamentatie: Nun. Vigilavit iugum iniquitatum ("The yoke of my iniquities hath watched")

(reconstructie: Manuel Del Sol)

Magnificat: Secundi toni

(from: Vatican Library, Cappella Giulia, Rome, Italy)

Lamentatie: Coph. Vocavi amicos meus (I called for my friends, but they deceived me")

(reconstructie: Manuel Del Sol)

Lamentation: Phe. Expandit Syon ("Zion has spread forth her hands, there is none to comfort her")

(reconstructie: Manuel Del Sol)

Magnificat: Tertii toni

(from: Vatican Library)

Composer Info

Cristóbal de Morales ca.1500-1553

Note: The contact information in this episode may be out-of-date. You can contact us at this current link.