The Thomas Tallis Edition, Volume 7

A note for non-members: During this crisis, we are honored to make our "classic" shows available to any who wishes to listen.

No membership is required. Simply click ▶️ (play) below to listen and enjoy this classic show.

To view more of our classic shows, click here.

Program: #04-21   Air Date: May 17, 2004

NOTE: All of the music on this program comes from the on-going series performed by the Chapelle du Roi directed by Alistair Dixon dedicated to Thomas Tallis (c.1505-1585).

Preservation of this program is made possible by a generous grant from David R Lampe.

It features Latin motets composed during the reign of Queen
Elizabeth (1558-1603).

This CD is on the Signum label and is # SIGCD029.

  • Salvator mundi I ("O Saviour of the world").
  • O sacrum convivium ("O sacred feast").
  • In manus tuas ("Into your hands, O Lord").
  • O nata lux de lumine ("O light born of light").
  • Absterge Domine ("O Lord, wipe away my transgressions").
  • Discomfort them, O Lord (adapted from Absterge Domine).
  • Domine, quis habitabit ("Lord, who shall dwell in thy tabernacle").
  • Laudate Dominum ("Praise the Lord").
  • Miserere nostri ("Have mercy upon us").
  • Mihi autem nimis ("Those dear to you are honored in my sight").
  • O salutaris hostia ("O saving victim").
  • In ieiunio et fletu ("Fasting and weeping, the priests shall pray").
  • Spem in alium ("The 40 Voice Motet"). This work, commissioned by Thomas Howard, Duke of Norfolk, was an answer to Striggio's 40-voice setting (Ecce beatam lucem), and performed between Norfolk's release from prison in 1570 and his execution in 1572. The text ("I have never put my hope in any other than  you") is from the Sunday Matins for the reading from the book of Judith.


Composer Info

Thomas Tallis (c.1505-1585)

CD Info

# SIGCD029

Note: The contact information in this episode may be out-of-date. You can contact us at this current link.

Thank you for listening to this show! If you enjoyed what you heard, click here to become a subscriber.

You’ll support our continuing mission to showcase early music, and you’ll gain access to our vast and unique selection of shows.