Three Woman-Based Ensembles

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #11-36   Air Date: Aug 29, 2011

Encantar, Les Witches, and La Donna Musicale take us on a musical journey from the High Renaissance to the Italian Baroque.

I. La déclination de la femme: The Many faces of women around Margaret of Austria (Encantar Ensemble). Phaedra CD 92069. For more information:

  • JOSQUIN des PREZ (?1450-1521): Proch dolor (Lament for the death of Maximilian I).
  • PIERRE de la RUE (c.1460-1518): Tous les regretz  ("Wherever they are in the world, let all sorrows come to me").
  • ALEXANDER AGRICOLA (1446-1506): Ave maris stella ("Hail, Star of the sea").

II. Konge af Danmark--European music at the court of Christian IV (Les Witches). Alpha CD 163. For more information:

  • TOBIAS HUME  (c.1569-1645): The Duke of Holstones Delight
  • SAMUEL SCHEIDT: (1587-1654):  Paduan
  • THOMAS SIMPSON (1582-c.1628): Ricercar (on "Bonny sweet Robin")
  • MOGN PEDERSØN (1580-1628): Fader vor i Himmerig
  • JOHANN VIERDANCK: (c.1605-1646): Canzona

III. ANNA BON--La virtuosa di venezia (Julianne Baird, s./La Donna Musicale/Laury Gutiérrez, dir.). La CD 10104. For more information:

  • ANNA BON (?c.1739-after 1772): Sonata V
  • ANNA BON: Aria Eja in preces (" Quickly to your prayers, and devoutly to hasten")

Composer Info

JOSQUIN des PREZ (1450-1521), PIERRE de la RUE (c.1460-1518), ALEXANDER AGRICOLA (1446-1506), TOBIAS HUME (c.1569-1645), SAMUEL SCHEIDT: (1587-1654), THOMAS SIMPSON (1582-c.1628), MOGN PEDERSØN (1580-1628), JOHANN VIERDANCK: (c.1605-1646), ANNA BON (c.1739-after 1772)

CD Info

Phaedra CD 92069, Alpha CD 163, La CD 10104,