Victoria’s Requiem

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #09-09   Air Date: Feb 23, 2009

Harry Christophers' ensemble The Sixteen gives us the great Requiem of Tomas Luis de Victoria, written upon the death of his beloved patron, Empress Maria.

We continue our long and fruitful association with our partners at Radio Netherlands in presenting a series of concerts from the 2008 Holland Festival of Early Music at Utrecht.

We will also direct listeners to their web site, which will provide more in-depth information about the music and performers we hear as well as more information about the festival ( The primary theme for 2008 was the Golden Age in Spain.

Note: All of the music on this program was performed by the ensemble The Sixteen, Harry Christophers, director For more information about this ensemble:

A life devoted to God and Music
Victoria: Requiem

Together with Cristóbal Morales and Francisco Guerrero, Tomás Luis de Victoria (1548-1611) constitutes the three main composers of the Spanish Renaissance. Like his fellow stars, Victoria stayed in Rome for a while, but contrary to their examples, he never took the post of maestro de capilla at one of his fatherland’s main cathedrals. Instead, after a stay of some 20 years in Italy, he spent the remainder of his life in relative seclusion as a priest in one of Madrid’s monasteries, the same institution that empress María choose as her residence after the death of her husband Maximilian II. For her death in 1603, Victoria would compose his six-part Missa pro defunctis, a true gem among his oeuvre and one of the finest examples of Renaissance polyphony. In this concert, the Requiem will follow some Marian antiphons and motets on words from the Song of Songs.

Tomás Luis de Victoria 1548-1611

1 O vos omnes, a 4 ("O all ye that pass by the way, attend and see")

2 Super flumina Babylonis, a 8 ("By the waters of Babylon we sat down and wept")

3 Ave Regina caelorum, a 5 ("Hail, Queen of Heaven")

4 Vadam et circuibo, a 6

5 Ave Maria, a 4

6 Vere languores ("Truly, our failings He has taken upon Himself")

7 Ave Regina caelorum, a 8 ("Hail, Queen of Heaven")

Missa pro defunctis, a 6

8 Introitus

9 Kyrie

10 Graduale

11 Offertorium

12 Sanctus

13 Benedictus

14 Agnus Dei

15 Communio

16 Motet: Versa est in luctum

17 Absolutio: Libera me

(from: Officium defunctorum…, Madrid, 1605)

Composer Info

Tomás Luis de Victoria (1548-1611)

Note: The contact information in this episode may be out-of-date. You can contact us at this current link.