Les Sacqueboutiers, Part 2

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #20-08   Air Date: Feb 10, 2020

The wonderful French ensemble takes us on a 17th century journey, with music from the time of Caravaggio, sacred concertos of Cima, and a celebration of the early Baroque trombone.

NOTE: All of the music on this program is from the ensemble Les Sacqueboutiers de Toulouse.

Since their founding in 1976, Les Sacqueboutiers have dedicated themselves to rediscovering the practice of ancient brass and the vast repertoire of the Renaissance , the golden age of their instruments. They have established themselves as one of the most imaginative early music ensembles. The search for musical excellence remains the driving force of their work. Selected as Ensemble of the Year at the Victoires de la Musique Classique 2008 , they collaborated with the most prestigious ensembles to perform repertoires ranging from the Renaissance to Mozart: Hesperion XXI , The Arts Florissants , The Royal Chapel , The Great Stable and the Chambre du Roy, the vocal ensemble Clément Janequin .

The Sacqueboutiers are not limited to the repertoire of the Renaissance. Their creativity leads them to design shows that combine ancient music with other artistic universes : contemporary music, dance, the world of puppetry, jazz, literature, ethnomusicology.

For more information: https://www.les-sacqueboutiers.com/

I. Tuba Mirum. Flora CD 2611.

The “Tuba Mirum” program is made up of works from the most beautiful original pieces devoted to Sacqueboute, including, alongside Daniel Lassalle, the presence of Michel Becquet, international concert artist, Fabrice Millischer, Jörgen Van Rijen, soloist at the Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam and Wim Bécu, flagships of today's trombonists.

1. Fili mi Absalon, 5:46

2. Canzon Piano & Forte, 3:44

3. La dama le demanda, 4:10

4. Attendite popule meus, 7:43

5. Gush forth my tears, 2:08

6. Essex gaillard, 1:39

7. Funeral, 3:48

8. King of Denmark, 3:08

9. Satyrn Tanz, 2:05

10. Schottisch Tanz, 1:51

11. Pilligrienen Tanz, 2:21

12. Rothschenken Tanz, 1:14

13. Todo el mundo en général, 4:33

14. Pavane V, 5:05

15. Gaillarde VII, 1:15

16. Courante XXIII, 1:54

17. Allemande XVI, 1:23

18. Canzon Prima, 2:32

19. Canzon VIII, 4:34

II. Clair Obscur—Dans le sillage du Caravage. Flora CD 2009.

At the dawn of the 17th century, Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio (1571-1610), reacted against academic rules in pictorial creation, instead playing on the violent contrasts of light and shade now known as 'chiaroscuro'. Meanwhile, Claudio Monteverdi invented the process of 'recite cantando' in which music uses text in order to enhance the expressive power of song. The importance of instrumental playing imitating the voice became paramount and extreme ornamentation, as in painting and architecture, held a prominent place in music. The Sacqueboutiers of Toulouse join together with violin, viol and lute and organ, doulciane (the predecessor of the bassoon) and percussion. The vocal parts are entrusted to the fresh and intensely expressive voice of soprano Adriana Fernandez Argentine.

From Classical Toulouse:

Secular madrigals, sacred motets, alternate here with some virtuoso sonatas of the greatest composers of that time, Monteverdi constituting the common thread of this exciting program. This new album is skillfully placed under the sign of the brilliant painter Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio, better known to us as Le Caravage . The links between the chiaroscuro pictorial technique and that of the “recitar cantando” put in the spotlight by Monteverdi appear there in filigree.

Tarquinio Merula's madrigal " Su la cetra amorosa " which opens the album sets the tone. That of the dialogue between voice and instruments. In this splendid madrigal, the fresh and luminous voice of the Argentinian soprano Adriana Fernandez establishes a real duet with the virtuoso cornetto by Jean-Pierre Canihac. Throughout this program the instruments and the voice play on a kind of reciprocal imitation which makes all the price. It is true that Adriana Fernandez, the soloist of vocal pieces, usual companion of the Sacqueboutiers, practices with a consummate art of ornamentation, phrasing and expressive finesse the repertoire explored here with the most competent interpreters of these music, like Jordi Savall, William Christie or ... Les Sacqueboutiers. It fits perfectly with the fruity tones of old brass. Its moving version of the famous " Lettera amorosa ", that, effervescent, of " Laudate Dominum ", two emblematic pieces of Monteverdi, alternate with dazzling virtuoso instrumental pieces like this incredible " Canzon prima " by Dario Castello which claims, part of the solo sackbag, an infernal velocity perfectly assumed by Daniel Lassalle. Musical happiness

Tarquinio Merula : "Su la cetra amorosa" (Canzoni e Sonate, Venise, 1637)
Andrea Falconiero : "Battala de Barabaso yerno de Satanas" (Io Libro, Naples, 1650)
Claudio Monteverdi : Laudate Dominum (Selva morale, Venise, 1641)
Giovanni Battista Fontana : Sonata XI (Venise, 1641)
Claudio Monteverdi : "Zefiro Torna" (VIo Libro de Madrigali, Venise)
Dario Castello : Canzon prima (Sonate concertate, Venise, 1644)
Claudio Monteverdi : "La lettera amorosa" (VIIo Libro de Madrigali, Venise)
Dario Castello : Canzon XII (Sonate concertate, Venise, 1644)
Ignato Donati : "O Gloriosa Domina" (Flores praetantissimorum, Milan, 1626)
Girolamo Frescobaldi : Canzon "La Bianchina" (Canzoni da sonare, Rome, 1628)
Claudio Monteverdi : "Confitebor" (Selva morale, Venise, 1641)

III. Giovanni Paolo Cima: Concerti Ecclesiastici  Flora CD 4118.

Les Sacqueboutiers, Ensemble of early brass instruments from Toulouse (France), which for four decades, defend with passion and imagination the rich repertoire of Renaissance music , presents their latest CD album entitled "Giovanni Paolo Cima, Concerti Ecclesiastici". The programme pays tribute to to the works of Cima, an Italian composer and organist of the 16th century.

His "Concerti ecclesiastici", a collection of sacred monodies and of several-voice motets accompanied with a basso continuo, a mass and several faux bourdons, as well as six instrumental pieces represent an erudit mixture of tradition and innovation. Giovanni Paolo Cima develops an inventive and delicate way of composing which emerges happily with the musical art characterizing the mastery of his talent.

Les Sacqueboutiers’ cast  of this album is pluralized : two singers (soprano, baritone), violin, cornett, sackbut and bass sackbut, viola da gamba, theorbo, organ. 

  • 1. Gaudeamus Omnes a 4, 1:55
  • 2. Sonata 50 in eco a 4, 4:09
  • 3. O sacrum a 2 in eco, 3:25
  • 4. Surge propera a 2 in eco, 3:46
  • 5. Exaudi Domine a 2, 2:19
  • 6. Capriccio a 2, 3:52
  • 7. Sonata in sol a 2, 4:28
  • 8. Confitemini Domino, 2:21
  • 9. Veni Sponsa Christi, 2:08
  • 10. Sonata in ré a 2, 4:00
  • 11. Jubilate deo a 2, 3:04
  • 12. Sonata 51 a 4, 2:23
  • 13. Vidi speciosam a 3, 2:44
  • 14. Quae est ista a 3, 2:21
  • 15. Benedicam Dominum a 2, 2:13
  • 16. Sonata in la a 3, 3:18
  • 17. Canzon IV "La Pace", 1:38
  • 18. Ornaverunt a 5, 2:07
  • 19. Assumpta est Maria a 8, 3:52

Composer Info

Giovanni Paolo Cima

CD Info

Flora CD 2611, Flora CD 2009, Flora CD 4118.