Naxos Distribution—Medieval Discs

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #15-03   Air Date: Jan 12, 2015

NOTE: All of the program this month feature recordings that are part of the expanded Naxos Distribution family. The excellent new release by La Reverie of popular devotion songs of 14th century Italy is just one of the recordings we will hear.

I. Licht des Ostens (Stella Maris Basilea). Ars Produktion CD ARS 38 154.

Licht des Ostens

From the liner notes: The program follows the mystery of the Christian faith, reflecting the most important stations of the history of the world and mankind from a Christian perspective in their relationship to God: Creation, the Fall of Man, Salvation, Betrayal, Resurrection. This mystery is represented during the liturgical year by the religious festivals and daily worship, and experienced anew time and again.

The the Light of the East shines through the choice of the pieces: not only because the music comes from from the Catholic and Orthodox East, but also because these so different sounds relate to the central figure of Christianity: "East is his name” is to be heard in one of our songs..

Die Schöpfung ist gut und freundlich
1 Antiphon – Anonym, heutiges Russland, 17. Jh. | 3:29
2 Osanna Angeli et archangeli – Anonym, Tschechien, 14.–15. Jh. | 2:28
Sündenfall – Hoffen auf Rettung
3 Hospodine, pomiluj ny – vermutlich Hl. Vojteˇch (Adalbert), (ca. 957–897),
Tschechien, gesungene Version aus 14. Jh. | 0:56
4 Pane Bože, studnice dobroty – Anonym, Tschechien, 16. Jh. | 3:46
5 Sswjatyj Bozhe – Anonym, Russland, 17. Jh. | 3:09
Gott wird Mensch
6 Issaije lykuji – Anonym, heutige Ukraine, vermutlich 13. Jh. | 1:23
7 Recordare – Ave tu rosa – Anonym, Tschechien, 12. Jh. | 3:08
8 Bogurodzica – vermutlich Hl. Vojteˇch, Polen, Version aus dem 15. Jh. | 1:42
9 O regina, lux divina – Anonym, Tschechien, 15. Jh. | 2:50
10 Dies est letitiae – Anonym, Tschechien, 15. Jh. | 1:41
Verbreitung des Lichtes
11 Primo tempore – Lesung aus dem Evangelium nach Matthäus,
Tschechien, 14. Jh. | 1:57
12 Izhe cheruwimy – Anonym, Russland, 17. Jh. | 2:36
13 S namy Boho – Anonym, Ukraine, 16. Jh. | 2:02
14 Sswjetje tichij – Anonym, Russland, 17. Jh. | 1:53
Verrat – Dunkelheit und Starre
15 Dnes bdyt Iuda – Anonym, Ukraine, 17. Jh. | 2:50
16 Plotiju usnuv – Anonym, Russland, 17. Jh. | 1:44
17 Surrexit Christus Hodie – Anonym, Tschechien, 15. Jh. | 2:49
18 O anhelos – Anonym, Byzanz | 1:38
19 Angjel wopijasche – Anonym, Russland, 17. Jh. | 1:45
20 Pascha krassenaja – Anonym, Ukraine, 16. Jh. | 2:09
Erleuchtung durch den Geist
21 Dnjes blagodat – Anonym, Russland, 17. Jh. | 2:33
22 Chváliž církev svatá matka / Psallat ecclesia – Anonym, Tschechien, 14. Jh. | 2:09
23 Svatý Václave – Anonym, Tschechien, 12. / 15. Jh. | 1:57
24 Presulis eminenciam – Petrus de Grudencz (1392 – ca. 1480), Polen 15. Jh. | 1:29
25 Benedic regem cunctorum / Magnificet – Anonym, Polen, 14. Jh. | 2:33
26 Veni sancte spiritus – Anonym, Tschechien, 15. Jh | 2:56


II. Laudarium—Songs of Popular Devotion from 14th century Italy (La Reverie) Arcana CD A 379.


The Lauda, a musical-poetic genre first developed by Saint Francis of Assisi, is historically the oldest and remains one of the most remarkable expressions of Italian popular musical culture from the Middle Ages to our day.

In this double CD set La Reverdie presents a rich and varied anthology of Italian monophonic Laude from the two principal sources of this repertoire: the manuscripts of Cortona (ca. 1270) and Florence (ca. 1320), centered on the main themes common to both: the cult of the Virgin Mary and the devotion of the Saints.

Along with recorded performances of many pieces from the Florence manuscript never before recorded, the two CD set includes a presentation booklet with detailed introductory essays illustrating the methods of musicological research involved in the reconstruction of this repertoire, as well as its continuing social, historical, cultural and religious significance, upon which La Reverdie has founded its unique interpretative approach.

Laude di Sancta Maria

1 - Venite a Laudare

2 - Ave Maria (antiphon)

3 - Verbum Patris hodie

4 - Die ti salvi Regina

5 - Voi ch'amate

6 - Or piangiamo

7 - Dulcis Jesu memoria / Jesu nostra redemptio

8 - Onne homo

9 - D.D. Sherwin: Diana stella

10 - Chi vuol lo mondo

11 - Troppo perde'l tempo

12 - Ortorum virentium / Virga Yesse

13 - Con la madre

14 - Ave maris stella (sequenza)

15 - Ave Donna sanctissima

16 - Assumpta est Maria (antiphon)

17 - Ave Regina gloriosa

CD 2

1 - Anonyme: Facciam laude a tucti i sancti**

2 - Anonyme: Sia laudato San Francesco*

3 - Anonyme: San Domenico beato**

4 - Anonyme: Ciascun ke fede sente*

5 - Anonyme: Santa Agnese da Dio amata **

6 - D.D Sherwin: Novel canto / Sia laudato San Vito

7 - Anonyme: Laudiam’ lli gloriosi martiri**

8 - Anonyme: Pastor principe beato**

9 - Anonyme: Magdalena degna da laudare*

10 - Anonyme: Spiritu Sancto dolçe amore*

11 - Anonyme: Benedicti e llaudati*


III. Kingdom of Heaven—Heinrich Laufenberg (Ensemble Dragma) Ramée CD RAM 1402.

Kingdom of Heaven: Heinrich Laufenberg

Heinrich Laufenberg lived and worked between c.1390 and 1460 in the Swiss canton of Argovia, southern Germany and Alsace. He was the author of a vast body of works, comprising spiritual hymns, didactic epics and religious prose. A manuscript housed in the Strasbourg Library, which took up the major part of his work, was completely destroyed in a fire in 1870. Happily, a copy had been made of it, so part of his oeuvre was able to be passed on to posterity. The surviving songs of Heinrich Laufenberg are of great beauty, in terms of both music and content: in one of them, he praises Mary in a thoroughly poetic way; in a lullaby, he asks Jesus’ protection for the sleeping infant; in yet another, he describes for us the kingdom of heaven in detail and in all its richness. This programme, entitled Royaume des cieux, offers us the joy of hearing songs that had remained silent since the 15th century.

Between Laufenberg’s lyrical and narrative songs are inserted instrumental pieces from the period. Thus, in an enthusiastic, authentic way, the ensemble Dragma gives life to the music of the late Middle Ages, in a glittering kaleidoscope.

Three highly-regarded musicians are at the heart of Ensemble Dragma: Agnieszka Budzińska-Bennett, Jane Achtman and Marc Lewon. Their flexible configuration (two voices, vielle, lute, and harp) allows them to bring the repertoire of the high and late Middle Ages to life, in all its colour and variety, for contemporary audiences. Established in 2012, the group soon embarked on a tour of Germany, France and Switzerland with a programme entitled The Kingdom of Heaven. This is Ensemble Dragma’s first CD.


Es taget minnencliche

Myn trud gheselle

Ich bin by ir

Bist grüßt maget reine

Ach Döhterlin, min sel gemeit

Gruß senen ich im hertzen traghe

Ich wölt, daz ich do Heime wer

Ein Lerer rúft vil lut

Cum lacrimis

Benedicite - Die triualt in dem obresten tron

Aliud Benedicite

Woluf, du böse welt gemein

Ellende du hest vmb vanghen mich

Kóm mir ein trost

Ich fare do hyn - Ich var zu dir, Maria rein

Seit ich dich, hercz lib, leiden muß

Got geb uns allen

Der winter will hin weichen

Puer natus ist uns gar schon


Benedicite - Fron her du bist in ewigkait

Es ist ein ingendig jor

Composer Info

Heinrich Laufenberg (c.1390-1460), Petrus de Grudencz (1392 – ca. 1480)

CD Info

CD ARS 38 154, Arcana CD A 379, Ramée CD RAM 1402