New from Harmonia Mundi II

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #09-43   Air Date: Oct 19, 2009

A three-CD set by Jordi Savall featuring music by three great composers of the Spanish Golden Age: Morales, Guerrero, and Victoria. NOTE: All of the music on this program is from the recording Maestros del Siglio de Oro, a three-CD compilation with Hesperion XX and La Capella Reial de Catalunya directed by Jordi Savall. It is on the Alia Vox label, and is CD #AVSA 9867 A/C.

I. Cristóbal de Morales (c.1500-1553)

  • Officium Defunctorum (as presented in Mexico, November 1559, to commemorate the death of Emperor Charles V)
  • AD MATUTINUM (At Matins)--Circumdederunt ("The sorrows of death have compassed me")
  • INVITATORIUM--Regem cui vivunt; Ps. 94: Venite ("The King, unto whom all things do live"/"O come, let us sing unto the Lord")
  • IN PRIMO NOCTURNO (In the First Nocturne): Verse: A porta infieri ("From the gates of hell")
    Lectio 1-3 (Lessons, from Job 7 & 10): Parce mihi Domine ("I loathe my life, I would not live forever")
  • IN SECUNDO NOCTURNO (In the Second Nocturne): Verse: Collocet eos ("Our Lord can set them with the princes")
    Responsorium: Ne recorderis ("Remember not, O Lord, my sins")
  • Missa pro defunctis a 5 (Rome, 1544).

II. Francisco Guerrero (1528-1599):

Sacrae Cantiones (Motets in 4, 5, 6, 8, & 12 voices; Seville 1555; Venice: 1570, 1589, 1597)

  • Ave Maria a 4 ("Hail Mary, full of grace")
  • Alma Redemptoris mater ("Blessed Mother of the Savior")
  • Beata Dei genetrix, Maria ("Blessed Mother of God, Mary")
  • Pater Noster ("Our Father")
  • O Domine Jesu Christe ("O Lord Jesus Christ, I adore thee")
  • O sacrum convivium ("O holy banquet in which we eat the body and blood of Christ")
  • O Laudate Dominum de caelis ("Praise the Lord of the heavens")
  • Gabriel archangelus ("The archangel Gabriel spoke to the Virgin, saying")
  • Ave virgo sanctissima ("Hail, most holy Virgin")
  • Salve Regina ("Hail Queen, Mother of Mercy")
  • Regina caeli ("Queen of Heaven, rejoice")
  • O Altitudo divitiarum (instr.)
  • Trahe me post te, Virgo Maria ("Take me with thee, Virgin Mary")
  • Duo Seraphim ("Two angels proclaimed one to the other")
  • Ave Maria a 8

III. Tomás Luis de Victoria (1548-1611):

Cantica Beatae Virginis

  • Ave Maria a 4
  • Gaude, Maria Virgo (1572--"Rejoice, Virgin Mary")
  • Trahe me post te, Virgo Maria (1583--"Take me with thee, Virgin Mary")
  • Salve Regina (1572--"Hail Queen, Mother of Mercy")
  • Ave Regina caelorum (1572--"Hail, Queen of the Heavens")
  • Sancta Maria, succure miseris (1572--"Holy Mary, aid the unfortunate")
  • Ne timeas, Maria (1572--"Fear not, Mary, for thou hast found grace in the eyes of the Lord")
  • Senex, Puerum portabat (1572--instr.)
  • O magnum mysterium (1572--"O great mystery and admirable sacrament")
  • Vidi speciosam sicut columbam (1572--""I have seen her, as beautiful as a dove")
  • Magnificat Primi toni (1600--""My soul doth magnify the lord")

Composer Info

Cristóbal de Morales (c.1500-1553), Francisco Guerrero (1528-1599), Tomás Luis de Victoria (1548-1611),

CD Info

CD #AVSA 9867 A/C.

Note: The contact information in this episode may be out-of-date. You can contact us at this current link.