Spotlight on the Netherlands: Concerti Grossi

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #10-07, Air Date: 02/08/10

The Holland Baroque Society looks at the evolution of the sonata and concerto form c.1730-1750. We continue our long and fruitful association with our partners at Radio Netherlands in presenting a series of concerts from the 2009 Holland Festival of Early Music at Utrecht. The RNW web site provides more in-depth information about the music and performers we hear as well as more information about the festival ( The primary theme for 2009 was the 250th anniversary of the death of Handel and the 350th of the birth of Purcell. RNW has also prepared a short YouTube video introduction to the festival for this year:

NOTE: All of the music on these programs is performed by the Holland Baroque Society. for more information:

Holland Baroque Society
Sergio Azzolini
Bassoon and direction

violin: Lidewij van der Voort, Judith Steenbrink,
David Wish, George Crawford, Maite Larburu,
Aira Maria Lehtipuu, Zefira Valova, Stefano Rossi
viola: Esther van der Eijk, Jan Willem Vis
cello: Tomasz Pokrzywinski, Diana Vinagre
violone: James Munro
harpsichord and organ: Tineke Steenbrink
theorbo: Daniele Caminiti

Concerti grossi

1 Georg Friedrich Händel 1685-1759
Overture op.6 no.5 HWV 323, 1739 [4:30]
Larghetto e staccato - Allegro
Attaca with harpsichord introduction only
Antonio Vivaldi 1678-1741
Concerto for bassoon and strings RV 488 [9:05]
Allegro non molto - Largo - Allegro non molto

2 William Boyce 1711-1779
Symphony in 8 parts no.6 [5:09]
(from: 8 Symphonys in 8 parts, Londen, 1760)
Largo - Allegro - Largo

3 Georg Friedrich Händel
Concerto grosso Op.6/12 HWV 330, 1739 [12:23]
Largo - Allegro - Aria: larghetto e piano -
Largo - Allegro

4 Francesco Geminiani 1687-1762
Concerto grosso [14:50]
Allegro moderato - Andante - Grave -
Presto - Affetuoso - Allegro moderato -
Andante - Adágio - Presto

Georg Friedrich Händel
1 Sonata à 5 HWV 288, ca.1707 [9:36]
Andante - Adágio - Allegro

Capel Bond 1730-1790
2 Bassoon concerto no.6 [8:11]
Andante - Slow - Affetuoso - Allegro
(from: Six Concertos in Seven Parts, Londen, 1766)

Charles Avison 1709-1770
3 Concerto grosso no.3 after a sonata by Scarlatti [9:00]
Largo andante - Allegro spiritoso -
Vivace - Allegro

Francesco Geminiani
4 La Folia, after Corelli's Sonata op.5 [10:33]

Composer Info

Georg Friedrich Händel 1685-1759, William Boyce 1711-1779, Francesco Geminiani 1687-1762, Capel Bond 1730-1790, Charles Avison 1709-1770, Antonio Vivaldi 1678-1741