The Swiss Early Music Scene

A note for non-members: We are honored to make our "classic" shows available to any who wishes to listen.

No membership is required. Simply click ▶️ (play) below to listen and enjoy this classic show.

To view more of our classic shows, click here.

Program: #01-33   Air Date: Aug 13, 2001


An award-winnning performance of dance music of Praetorius by Zurich's Ricercare Ensemble.

Preservation of this program is made possible by a generous grant from Bruce and Debby Lieberman.

NOTE: Support for this program came from PRS, Presence Switzerland, with additional support from Pro Helvetia, Swiss Radio International, and the Embassy of Switzerland in Washington, D.C.

This recording, supplied by Swiss Radio, was originally released on EMI Electrola 1C 063-30 117. It features the Ricercare Ensemble for Early Music in Zurich directed by Michel Piguet.

All of the music is from the 1612 collection Terpsichore by Michael Praetorius.

Set I:

  • Bransle de Villages XIV a 5 (1-6).
  • Philou XXII a 4.
  • La Canarie XXXI a 4.
  • Passameze CCLXXXIII a 5.
  • Gailliards CCLXXXIV a 5.
  • Branle de la royne.
  • Bouree I & II.

Set II:

  • 1, Branle I a 5.
  • Volte CCXLII a 4.
  • Pavane de Spaigne.
  • Pavane hispanica.
  • The old Spagnoletta.
  • Ballet des Anglois.
  • Courante de Perichou.

Set III:

  • Volte du Tambour.
  • Courante CLXXI a 4.
  • Pavane de Spanje.
  • Stil stil een Reys.
  • Galliarde CCCVII a 4.
  • Ballet CCLXXIII a 4.
  • Ballet CCLXVI a 4.
  • Courante Sarabande.
  • Volte CCXLIII a 4.

Composer Info

Michael Praetorius

Note: The contact information in this episode may be out-of-date. You can contact us at this current link.

Thank you for listening to this show! If you enjoyed what you heard, click here to become a subscriber.

You’ll support our continuing mission to showcase early music, and you’ll gain access to our vast and unique selection of shows.