The William Byrd Edition, Part 8

A note for non-members: During this crisis, we are honored to make our "classic" shows available to any who wishes to listen.

No membership is required. Simply click ▶️ (play) below to listen and enjoy this classic show.

To view more of our classic shows, click here.

Program: #03-12   Air Date: Mar 24, 2003

Andrew Carwood continues his brilliant series of the complete music of William Byrd with settings for the Feast of the Purification.

Preservation of this program is made possible by a generous grant from David R Lampe.

NOTE: All of the music on this program is from the ongoing series with The Cardinall's Musick directed by Andrew Carwood presenting the complete music of William Byrd (c.1535/40--1623). The performing editions and notes are by David Skinner, and the entire series, which has been presented on this program, is on the ASV/Gaudeamus label (Volume 8 is CD GAU 309), and may be ordered from Koch Entertainment:

from Cantiones Sacrae, 1589:

  • Vigilate ("Keep watch, for you know not when the Lord of the house will come").
  • In resurrectione tua ("At your resurrection, O Lord"--for Easter).
  • Aspice Domine ("Look, O Lord, from your holy seat"--for Sundays in November).
  • Ne iscaris ("Be not angry any more, O Lord").

from Propers from the Feast of the Purification:

  • Antiphon: Senex puerum portabat ("The old man carried the boy").
  • Processional: Adorna thalamum ("Adorn your bridal chamber, O Sion").
  • Introit: Suscepimus ("We have received your mercy, O God").
  • Gradual: Suscepimus.
  • Alleluia: Senex puerum.
  • Tract: Nunc dimittis ("Now, Lord, let your servant depart in peace.").
  • Offertory: Diffusa est gratia ("Grace is poured from your lips").
  • Communion: Responsorum accepit ("Simeon received an answer").
  • Antiphon: Hodie beata Virgo ("Today the Blessed Virgin").
  • Marian Antiphon: Ave regina caelorum ("Hail, Queen of Heaven").

from Cantiones Sacrae, 1589:

  • O Quam gloriosum ("O how glorious is the kingdom of the saints"--for All Saints).
  • Tribulationes civitatum ("We have heard of the tribulations").
  • Domine secundum multitudinem ("O Lord, according to the multitude of sorrows").
  • Laetentur caeli ("Let the heavens rejoice"--for Advent).

Composer Info

William Byrd (c.1535/40--1623)

CD Info

CD GAU 309.

Note: The contact information in this episode may be out-of-date. You can contact us at this current link.

Thank you for listening to this show! If you enjoyed what you heard, click here to become a subscriber.

You’ll support our continuing mission to showcase early music, and you’ll gain access to our vast and unique selection of shows.