In Paradisum

A note for non-members: During this crisis, we are honored to make our "classic" shows available to any who wishes to listen.

No membership is required. Simply click ▶️ (play) below to listen and enjoy this classic show.

To view more of our classic shows, click here.

Program: #02-24   Air Date: Jun 17, 2002

Members of the Hilliard Ensemble share their latest recording on ECM with music for the Requiem Mass by Victoria and Palestrina.

Preservation of this program is made possible by a generous grant in memory of Louis P. Contiguglia.

NOTE: All of the music on this program is perfomed by the Hilliard Ensemble, two of whose members, David James and Gordon Jones, were our guests.

The recording In Paradisum is on the ECM label and is CD ECM New Series 1653. It features 17th century French  chant of the Requiem with polyphony by Tomas Luis de  Victoria and Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina.

  • VICTORIA: Officium defunctorum 1605: Taedet animam meam.
  • Anon.: Gradual Romanum, Toul: Introitus; Kyrie.
  • PALESTRINA: Domine quando veneris.
  • Anon.: Gradual Romanum, Toul: Gradual.
  • VICTORIA: Officium defunctorum 1605: Libera me Domine.
  • Anon.: Gradual Romanum, Toul: Tractus.
  • PALESTRINA: Ad Dominum cum tribularer clamavi.
  • Anon.: Gradual Romanum, Toul: Sequentia; Offertorium; Sanctus-Benedictus; Agnus Dei; Communio.
  • PALESTRINA: Libera me Domine.

Composer Info

Tomas Luis de Victoria, Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina.

CD Info

CD ECM New Series 1653.

Note: The contact information in this episode may be out-of-date. You can contact us at this current link.

Thank you for listening to this show! If you enjoyed what you heard, click here to become a subscriber.

You’ll support our continuing mission to showcase early music, and you’ll gain access to our vast and unique selection of shows.