The Rosary Sonatas

To listen to this show, you must first LOG IN. If you have already logged in, but you are still seeing this message, please SUBSCRIBE or UPGRADE your subscriber level today.

Program: #05-20   Air Date: May 09, 2005

All of the music on this program is from a live concert given at the Holland Festival of Early Music at Utrecht 2004 featuring the Ensemble Cordaria.

 As Paul Janssen writes.

In his dramatic, religious and ensemble music Heinrich Ignaz von Biber appeared to be an ordinary composer who developed Baroque music in a conventional way, step by step. But when the Bohemian musician wrote for his own instrument, the violin, he transformed like a vampire at midnight into an altogether different being, into a unique musical illusionist. Only he could make the violin sound like an entirely alien instrument that produced the most incredible sonorities. He wrote his fifteen Rosenkrantz (Rosary) Sonatas for Prince-Archbishop Maximilian Gandolph of Salzburg. They follow the fifteen Mysteries from the life of the Virgin Mary as presented in the rosary, each sonata covering a certain episode. The first five sonatas concentrate on the joyful mysteries, the Annunciation and the first twelve, carefree years in the life of MaryÕs son Jesus. The second group, the mournful mysteries, encompasses the Conviction and Crucifixion of Christ, complete with an earthquake in the tenth sonata. The third group, the glorious mysteries, deals with the Resurrection and the Ascension.

Broadcast of this program is made possible with the generous support of RNW,Radio Netherlands World Service.

1. Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber (1644-1704) Sonata 1 Ð The Annunciation (a,b, c)

2. Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger ca.1580-1651 Toccata (c solo).

3. Sonata 2 Ð Mary Visits Elisabeth

4. Johann Kaspar Kerll (1627-1693) Toccata IV de Durezze e Ligature in e

5. Sonata 3 Ð The Birth

6. Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger Passacaglia, Capona & Canario (c solo)

7. Sonata 4 Ð The Presentation in the Temple

8. Georg Muffat (1653-1704) Ciacona in G major ( b solo)

9. Sonata 5 Ð Jesus in the Temple

Composer Info

Heinrich Ignaz Franz von Biber (1644-1704), Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger ca.1580-1651, Johann Kaspar Kerll (1627-1693), Georg Muffat (1653-1704)

Note: The contact information in this episode may be out-of-date. You can contact us at this current link.